The Commissioners

The Tasmanian Planning Commission is established under the Tasmanian Planning Commission Act 1997. It has a full-time Executive Commissioner and seven part-time Commissioners.

Commissioners are chosen by the Minister and appointed by the Governor. Under that Act, each Commissioner is to have specific skills and expertise as follows:

  • a person who is the chairperson of the Commission and Executive Commissioner – Peter Fischer (Acting)
  • a person who has planning experience and is recommended by the Local Government Association of Tasmania – Michael Stretton
  • a person who has experience in public administration relating to project implementation nominated by the Minister responsible for the State Policies and Projects Act 1993Ann Cunningham
  • a person who has expertise and management experience in resource conservation – John Ramsay
  • a person who, in the opinion of the Minister, has planning experience and appropriate experience in industry and commerce – Claire Gregg
  • a person who representing community interests who has resource conservation or planning experience – Roger Howlett
  • a person who is the Head of (or an employee of) the State Service Agency responsible for transport and infrastructure – Shane Gregory
  • a person who is the chairperson of Taswater (or their nominee) – Eamonn Tiernan

The Commissioners are supported by staff employed within the Department of Justice.

No image available 

Peter Fischer

Peter is Acting as the Executive Commissioner and Chair of the Tasmanian Planning Commission.

Photo of Michael Stretton

Michael Stretton

Michael Stretton has held senior council positions in two regions of the State, has worked in local government for nearly 20 years and is currently the General Manager of the Launceston City Council.

Before this, he held positions of General Manager of the Waratah-Wynyard Council, Director Development Services at the City of Launceston and Director Development and Regulatory Services at Central Coast Council.

Michael has also held a number of environmental health positions at Sorell, Glenorchy and Central Coast Councils and is a former board member of Natural Resource Management (NRM) North and Tamar NRM.

Michael holds Masters Degrees in Applied Science and Business Administration.

Photo of Ann Cunningham

Ann Cunningham

Ann holds a law degree with honours from the University of Tasmania, has practised as a barrister and solicitor and is an accredited mediator and arbitrator.

Ann's current Tribunal positions include Senior Member of the Commonwealth Administrative Appeals Tribunal and Presiding Member of the Resource Management and Planning Appeal Tribunal. Ann is also a member of the Liquor Licensing Board, a director of Marine and Safety Tasmania, a divisional councillor and Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Photo of John Ramsay

John Ramsay

John is a qualified lawyer from the University of Tasmania. He is the Director and Principal of his own environment and planning consultancy.

He spent 23 years as a Tasmanian Departmental Secretary, including Justice, Environment and Land Management, Primary Industries, Water and Environment.

John is currently the Chair of the Forest Practices Authority. His previous appointments include Chair of the Land Use Planning Review Panel, member of the Forest Practices Board and Chair of the Environment Protection Authority.

Photo of Claire Gregg

Claire Gregg

Claire Gregg has considerable experience as a consultant planner and project manager.

Claire is a principal of Planning Development Services (a planning consultancy and project management firm) based in Launceston - since 2012. From 2006 – 2012, Claire worked as a development consultant and project manager for Lester Franks.

Photo of Roger Howlett

Roger Howlett

Roger is a Commissioner with resource conservation and planning experience representing community interests. He has 40 years  experience in local government planning in New South Wales, Tasmania and the United Kingdom.

From 1979 to 1993 he was the Planner / Director of Planning and Development for the Clarence City Council, and then General Manager of that Council until retirement in 2003.

Roger has extensive experience in strategic land use planning and catchment management. He is a member of the Resource Management and Planning Appeal Tribunal, a Life Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia and a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Photo of Shane Gregory 

Shane Gregory

Shane is the General Manager, State Roads for the Department of State Growth, Tasmania.

Shane has worked in South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania in a wide range of technical, supervisory and management roles in both government and civil engineering consulting.

In 2009, Shane joined the Department of Infrastructure, Energy and Resources as Manager Planning & Design and became General Manager State Roads in 2012.

He has formerly held the role of Commissioner of Transport in Tasmania, has been a Director of Austroads since 2012, Austroads Deputy Chair since 2016 and a Director of Transport Certification Australia since 2019.

Photo of Eamonn Tiernan 

Eamonn Tiernan

Eamonn Tiernan has been TasWater’s Department Manager Development Services since December 2013. He has responsibility for TasWater’s assessment and compliance activities as they relate to provision of water and sewerage services for new developments.

Eamonn has experience in utility management and infrastructure development, gained over twenty years across a range of corporate services and business performance roles in the Tasmanian water industry. He holds accounting qualifications from University of Tasmania and Deakin University and is a graduate of Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Commission complaints and grievances

The Tasmanian Planning Commission (Commission), as an independent statutory body, is committed to maintain high standards of governance and accountability in performing its functions and exercising its powers at arm’s length from government and political processes.

The Commission is established under the Tasmanian Planning Commission Act 1997 which sets out the Commission’s responsibilities and obligations in performing its functions and exercising its powers, including those assigned under Resource Management and Planning System (RMPS) legislation.

The Executive Commissioner, Commissioners and delegates of the Commission are bound by the Commission’s Code of Conduct. Staff of the Commission are bound the State Service Act 2000 under which there is a Code of Conduct.

If concerned about the conduct of delegates or staff of the Commission, in the first instance, the matter should be taken up with the Executive Commissioner. If the concern is about the Executive Commissioner, the matter should be referred to the Deputy Secretary, Corrections and Regulations, Department of Justice.

Consideration may also be given to referring the matter the Ombudsman, under the Ombudsman Act 1978 or the Integrity Commission, established under the Integrity Commission Act 2009.