Code of Conduct

The Executive Commissioner, Commissioners and delegates are expected to uphold the integrity of the Tasmanian Planning Commission (Commission).

It is important that the Executive Commissioner, Commissioners and delegates maintain the integrity of the Commission’s decision-making processes by observing the rules of natural justice, bringing an open and unprejudiced mind to all matters and always abiding by the law.

Its decision-making must also be undertaken in a manner which withstands the closest legal and public scrutiny maintaining the Commission’s reputation for independence, fairness and good governance.

This Code of Conduct applies to the Executive Commissioner and Commissioners of the Tasmanian Planning Commission; and any persons delegated the roles and functions of the Commission, except where they are employed under the State Service Act 2000.

The Code reflects the Commission’s commitment to uphold the highest standards of ethical behaviour. It engenders the expectation that the Executive Commissioner, Commissioners, and delegates will act honestly, professionally, and with accountability in the performance of the Tasmanian Planning Commission’s roles and functions.

Tasmanian Planning Commission Code of Conduct (PDF, 567 KB) 8 pages 10/2019

Commission complaints and grievances

The Executive Commissioner, Commissioners and delegates of the Commission are bound by the Commission’s Code of Conduct. Staff of the Commission are bound the State Service Act 2000 under which there is a Code of Conduct.

If concerned about the conduct of delegates or staff of the Commission, in the first instance, the matter should be taken up with the Executive Commissioner. If the concern is about the Executive Commissioner, the matter should be referred to the Secretary, Deputy Secretary, or the Director of Human Resources of the Department of Justice.

Consideration may also be given to referring the matter the Ombudsman, under the Ombudsman Act 1978 or the Integrity Commission, established under the Integrity Commission Act 2009.